News & Press: News

2019 Plat Award Winners

Monday, May 20, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Christopher Jensen
Share |

The plat contest was held at the 2019 VAS convention with a total of twenty entries submitted in the following categories: Subdivision, ALTA/NSPS, Boundary/Cadastral, Topographic and Miscellaneous. Many comments were heard about the quality of the submissions, and the judging was extremely close, with some categories only having a few points separating the first and second place winners from the other entries in their respective category.

The following winners were recognized at the Friday night dinner:

ALTA/NSPS Survey Maps

(1st Place) Greg Zoby, MSA P.C.

(2nd Place) Ned Marshall, The Engineering Group

Miscellaneous Plats

(1st Place) Jeffrey Vierrether,  MSA P.C.

(2nd Place) Dave Gardy, Gardy & Associates

Subdivision Plats

(1st Place) Dave Gardy, Gardy & Associates

(2nd Place) M. Taze Crowder,  Actual Surveys

Boundary/Cadastral Maps

(1st Place) Ralph Clements, Gay & Neel Inc.

(2nd Place) Ned Marshall, The Engineering Group

Topographic Maps

(1st Place)  Brent Evans,  christopher consultants

(2nd Place) Ned Marshall, The Engineering Group


All first place entries will be submitted to the NSPS national competition.

Virginia Association of Surveyors would like to thank all the judges who volunteered their time and expertise.